top of page

School Supplies For College


Hello Everyone!

Today I will be sharing the school supplies I bought for college and why they are essential. I will also talk about a few things you will not need for college and why.

Preparing for college can be nerve-wracking and overwhelming, but everyone who has ever gone to college has felt the same way. You aren't alone.

Throughout the college shopping process I was never overwhelmed. I knew what I wanted to buy for my dorm room and I was good at slowly checking things off my list. However, I was nervous about classes and forgetting some smaller item that would prove to be essential. But regardless of my fears about college I made it through the summer before freshman year by being honest with myself, and this is my biggest tip for you!

Whether you are buying things for your dorm (you can see my dorm room shopping list here) or buying school supplies be honest with yourself and really consider whether you will use whatever it is that you are buying. If you don't iron your clothes when you are at home you probably won't iron them at college. If you don't really like writing notes don't buy a bunch of notebooks. Take the experience of shopping for college to really understand your personality and habits. Embrace them!

With that being said here is my list of essential school supplies for college. First, think about your own learning style and strategies then create your own list using mine as a guide.

  • Keychain

  • Water bottle

  • Pens

  • Pencils

  • Highlighters

  • Sticky notes

  • Colored pens

  • 1-2 Notebooks

  • Folders

  • Planner

  • Lamp

  • Scissors

  • Tape

  • Stapler and staples

  • Calculator and charger

  • Index cards

  • Printer and paper

  • Headphones

  • Loose notebook paper

  • Paper clips

  • Computer

  • Flash drive or hard drive

  • Desk organizer

I hope you all enjoyed this post and found it helpful! Be sure to check out other blog posts and subscribe to see new content!

Emily Marie


bottom of page